many little graces

by Betsy

On August 12 it was a very cloudy day, as usual.  I know I’ve lived on the Pacific Northwest Coast long enough to expect this weather.  But I’m still surprised when the sun doesn’t shine in August.

My friends and I were celebrating birthdays on the beach.  And for that three hour window, the clouds parted and the sun came out in all it’s glory.

As we left the party, I mentioned how great it was to have a break in the weather.  And Pastor David said with his usual exuberance, “what a gift the sun was!”

It’s been a week and I can’t shake his comment from my thoughts.

What I normally pass off as a happy, little coincidence, he defined as a beautiful, intentional grace.  A gift on purpose.  A gift with purpose.

Daily graces given to us.  It’s our purpose to recognize them.

