forget resolutions – what i really want from the new year

by Betsy

welcome to 2013

I keep thinking that I should work on a list of new year resolutions.  I’ll list a few and then stop, “Get more organized, run two more races then I did last year, take a class at the community college…”  But this list just doesn’t feel right to me.

After thinking about this for a few days, I realize what the problem is.  The list?  Who cares.  Like really.  Who cares.  Sure, it would be cool to make it through 2013 with a bunch of check marks to show for the year but those tasks are just things to do.  And I already have plenty of things on my to-do list.

What I really want to work on this year is me.  Who do I want to be by the end of the year?  What changes would I like to have made in my personal life?  If this is my last year on earth, I don’t want to end it with a completed to-do list.  I want to end it with a stronger character, a softer heart, a clearer purpose.

I want to live more honestly, love more passionately, laugh more often and give more generously.  I want to create beauty, investigate the world, and pray for change.  I want to take care of others, dance without concern, and be brave enough to be me.

Happy new year.

